Superlocrian is a classical crossover chamber ensemble, directed by Sam Massey, that showcases the exciting possibilities when combining the sound worlds of woodwind and brass in a small ensemble setting.

Performing new and exciting arrangements, its repertoire ranges from Piazzolla’s ‘Libertango‘ to Benny Golson’s ‘I Remember Clifford‘, with a selection of music from the stage and screen and contemporary saxophone duets to enjoy too.

Following an acclaimed debut concert to a packed house at the Nourish Festival in Bovey Tracey in 2017, Superlocrian would be an ideal choice for a concert or music festival slot in 2018.

With excellent instrumentalists amongst its ranks, check out the videos below for an example of the beautiful array of colours and textures produced by the ensemble.

Described as “That’s lovely!” by the composers, please see our arrangement of Hue & Cry’s ‘Just Say You Love Me‘:

Superlocrian – Just Say You Love Me (Niles/Kane arr. Massey)

Arrangement used with kind permission from Universal Music Publishing Limited and Kobalt Music Publishing Limited.

Personnel, from left to right:

Trumpet/Flugelhorn – Callam Dowd

Saxophones & Flute – Jade Gall

Saxophones & Clarinet – Edward Leaker

Tuba – Martin Cleave

Trombone – Andy Dore

Trumpet/Flugelhorn – Robin Pengilley

Superlocrian – Nobody Does It Better (Marvin Hamlisch arr. Massey)

Nobody Does It Better
Words by Carole Bayer
Music by Marvin Hamlisch
© Copyright 1977 EMI Unart Catalog Inc.
EMI United Partnership Limited.
This arrangement © Copyright 2017 EMI Unart Catalog Inc.
Used by permission of Music Sales Limited and Sony/ATV Music Publishing.

All Rights Reserved. International Copyright Secured. Personnel as above.

For more information or to book the ensemble, please get in touch with Sam via the Contact page.